Free Credit Report

boatfax.com scam

I made the mistake of ordering a boatfax.com report for $20 on a hull ID number, thinking it was going to be a CarFax type report detailing the title history.

Instead all, and I mean *all*, I got was a "validation" of the HIN (like you can decode yourself from http://www.uscgboating.org/), that the manufacturer was out of business (which they aren't), and the idiotic statement, "There is some data match, but it is unlikely that the item has been reported lost, stolen or scrapped." Absolutely no history or other data whatsoever. Contact info on the "Contact Us" page? Nothing but an email address.

What a joke. Here's the whois for the domain:

registrant-firstname: Chris registrant-lastname: Haythornthwaite registrant-street1: Woodcroft Road registrant-street2: Marholm Farmhouse registrant-pcode: PE6 7HU registrant-city: Peterborough registrant-ccode: GB registrant-phone: +44.1733268545 registrant-email: chris@chrisandgill.com

Here's hoping nobody else is fooled by these clowns.

Richard
May 6
2006
   

Disclaimer: This is a computer-generated and formatted feed of current postings to a public
Internet forum. We do not control the information delivered, nor do we endorse or monitor its
content. Internet forums may carry offensive, harmful, inaccurate, and otherwise inappropriate material.
Click to see the RSS XML version of this page   Click to see the Atom XML version of this page